Shri. J.Satyanarayana, IAS

Secretary, Department of Electronics and Information Technology (DEIT), Government of India

Date of Appointment : 25th April 2012

Shri J. Satyanarayana is Secretary to Government of India, Department of Electronics and Information Technology. A member of Indian Administrative Service from 1977 Batch and AP Cadre, Sh. Satyanarayana has been Special Chief Secretary in the state of Andhra Pradesh. During his various assignments in Andhra Pradesh, he has served as Principal Secretary Health, Medical & Family Welfare Department, Principal Secretary IT and Communications and CEO of National Institute for Smart Government.

Master of Sciences in Physics and MBA from University of Ljubljana (Slovenia), Sh. Satyanarayana has made wide contributions to the cause of e-Governance. Founder of e-Seva, a one stop shop for citizen services, he was the one responsible for shaping NISG as a Centre of Excellence in e-Government consultancy and capacity building leading to formulation of e-Governance and Capacity Building Roadmaps for the State Governments and Union Territories in India.

Responsible for conceptualization and development of large e-Government projects for the Ministries of Central and State Governments in India e.g.  MCA 21 for Ministry of Corporate Affairs, e-Biz for Ministry of Industries, Passport Seva Project for the Ministry of External Affairs, Bangalore One and e-Procurement for Govt. of Karnataka, Goa Broadband Network for Government of Goa, he has been instrumental in training the political leaders & policy makers on the concepts and principles of e-Governance.

He has written 2 books entitled,’ e-Government, the science of the possible’ and ‘Managing Transformation: Objectives to Outcomes’ that capture his wide experience in the field of e-Governance. Shri Satyanarayana was honored by the Council of Ministers of Andhra Pradesh by passing an extra-ordinary resolution, placing his services on record for the successful implementation of CARD project of computerization of Registration and Stamps Department in the state.

Shri Satyanarayana now holds the charge of Department of Electronics and Information Technology as Secretary to the Government of India since 14 March 2012.